Return to the list
Indoor Air Quality and Energy Efficiency
Certification manual
Certification manual
Technical Certification Rules


The Eurovent Certified Performance (ECP) programme scope for Indoor Air Quality and Energy Efficiency (IAQVS) applies to mechanical ventilation systems for single-family homes and apartments. The categories of ventilation systems covered by the scope are the following:

  • Central, single flow (supply or exhaust) without heat recovery
  • Central, double flow (balanced ventilation) with or without heat recovery
  • Single-room, single flow (decentralised continuous ventilation for supply or exhaust)
  • Single-room, double flow (balanced ventilation) with or without heat recovery

For the full programme scope and exclusions please view the Technical Certification Rules.


Indoor air pollution can have a negative effect on human health. Residential mechanical ventilation systems can negate this by providing fresh air ventilation, humidity control, and improving indoor air quality in domestic buildings. Systems can be adept at providing fresh air, expelling stale air, and eliminating issues such as condensation, damp and mould. Some systems include heat recovery to improve energy efficiency by using the exhaust air to either pre-heat or pre-cool the incoming supply air.

The IAQVS programme is intended to certify the performance of an assembly of ventilation components forming a specific ventilation system. The performances are evaluated considering the whole assembly, which enables assessment of the synergies between its constituting components.

The ventilation system is evaluated through simulations in consistency with its application field. The simulations provide performance indicators that enable to assess the ventilation system performance from both Indoor Air Quality and Energy Efficiency perspectives.

Residential mechanical ventilation systems within the programme include:

  • Central, single flow (by air exhaust or air supply)
  • Central, double flow
  • Single-room, single flow
  • Single-room, double flow.

Systems can include a number of components such as:

  • Ductwork components
  • Externally mounted air transfer devices 
  • Exhaust and supply air terminal devices
  • In-duct air volume flow regulators
  • Exhaust ventilation units
  • Supply ventilation units
  • Ducted mechanical bidirectional ventilation units (including heat recovery) for single family dwellings
  • Non-ducted mechanical bidirectional ventilation units (including heat recovery) for single room
  • Sensors
  • Filters
  • Air extraction cooker hoods.


The following performance items are certified:

Indoor Air Quality indicators:
A global Indoor Air Quality indicator (IIAQ) is defined as the average of the following indicators:

  • Carbon dioxide (CO2) concentration indicator (ICO2) which represents air stuffiness
  • Air Relative Humidity (RH) indicator (IH2O) which represents the excess/lack of humidity in the air
  • Formaldehyde concentration indicator (IFOR) which represents the chemical pollution emitted by furniture and construction materials
  • The IAQ indicators are expressed by individual grades from 0 (bad Indoor Air Quality) to 5 (good Indoor Air Quality). They are rounded to one decimal place.

Energy Efficiency indicators:
The following Energy performance indicators are assessed:

  • Energy consumption of the fan (Efan)
  • Consumption induced by air renewal (Eheating).

They are expressed in kWh/annum (rounded to the nearest integer).

All these indicators are represented in a label specific to each ventilation system.

Find out how to apply for our Indoor Air Quality and Energy Efficiency programme

See related articles