You can select a Certification Programme from the list below to retrieve its description (scope of the programme, definitions...)

  See certified products

Scope of the programme

This Certification Programme applies to Air Filter elements rated and sold as “Medium and Fine Filters Class M5, M6, F7 – F9” as defined in EN 779:2012 and ISO 16890:2016, with a front frame size of 592x592mm according to standard EN 15805 and with a nominal airflow between 0.24 and 1.5 m3/s. When a company joins the programme, all relevant medium and fine air filter elements shall be certified.

Note: As manufacturers may produce a large number of filters with different length/depth there is a tolerance for the declaration of filters belonging to the same filter family as already certified filters with the same nominal airflow and with different length/depth of the overall filter element within a tolerance of +/- 10% or 50 mm (whatever is the smaller). Outside of this tolerance the filters shall be declared.



Air Filter Element: A filter unit to clean air from particulate contamination comprising filter material including framing, supporting parts and gaskets, the total to be inserted into a filter housing device.

Performance Data: Single values out of the filter test report as carried out in accordance with EN 779:2012 and ISO 16890:2016.

Filter family: A filter family is characterised by the following:

  • the same filter material
  • the same basic construction (e.g. bag, V-type, etc.)
  • the same face velocity : rated air-flow / min. net filter area; (does not have to be published). The airflow rate shall be adapted to the face area.
  • The same length/depth of the overall filter element with a tolerance of +/- 10% or 50 mm whatever is the smaller
  • The same ratio of filter medium area to front face area
  • the same filter class M5, M6, F7, F8 or F9
  • published data available about: basic construction, filter media, filter class available via internet or other published sales brochures.

Representative Filter Element: Any type chosen by Eurovent Certita Certification out of a “filter” fitting into the EN 779 – test rig and ISO 16890:2016.

F-Filter Class: Class of fine (group “F”) air filters based on classification according to EN 779:2012 (F7, F8 or F9).

M-Filter Class: Class of medium (group “M”) air filters based on classification according to EN 779:2012 (M5, M6).

Initial Pressure Drop: Pressure drop of the clean filter operating at the test air flow rate.

Initial Efficiency: Efficiency of the clean filter operating at the test air flow rate.

Discharged Efficiency: Discharged efficiency of media at 0.4 µm according to EN 779:2012 clause 11.

Minimum Efficiency: Lowest efficiency among the discharged efficiency, initial efficiency and the lowest efficiency throughout the loading procedure of the test – Note: Minimum efficiency is used for the classification of F-filters (see definition in EN779:2012).

Eurovent Energy Efficiency Class: Energy Efficiency class as defined in RS 4/C/001-2018.

Annual Energy Consumption: Estimated Electricity Consumption per year due to an air filter as defined in Eurovent Document 4/21 - 2014 (kWh/annum).

ISO rating: Filter class according to ISO 16890:2016 (e.g. ISO ePM1 65%)

Testing requirements

Verification of performance characteristics shall be carried out in accordance with:

  • European Standard EN779:2012: "Particulate air filters for general ventilation - Determination of filtration performance" for Filter Class, initial pressure drop, initial efficiency and minimum efficiency;
  • ISO Standard ISO 16890:2016-1: Air filters for general ventilation — Part 1: Technical specifications, requirements and classification system based upon particulate matter efficiency (ePM);
  • ISO Standard ISO 16890:2016-2: Air filters for general ventilation — Part 2: Measurement of fractional efficiency and air flow resistance
  • ISO Standard ISO 16890:2016-3: Air filters for general ventilation — Part 3:
    Determination of the gravimetric efficiency and the air flow resistance versus the mass of test dust captured;
  • ISO Standard ISO 16890:2016-4: Air filters for general ventilation — Part 4: Conditioning method to determine the minimum fractional test efficiency;
  • Eurovent Document 4/21: "Calculation method for the energy use related to air filters in general ventilation systems" for annual energy consumption.
All independent laboratories have to use the same test dust producer for a given test campaign. Before each test campaign independent laboratories will inform the participants on which testdustproducer will be used. Applicant (participant not yet certified) can request from ECC information on the test dust producer used during the previous test campaign.
Certified Characteristics

The following performance characteristics shall be certified:

  • Filter class: M5, M6, F7 to F9
  • Initial pressure drop ∆p0 in Pa, measured according to EN779:2012
  • Initial Efficiency according to EN779:2012 (for F7 to F9 filters only)
  • Minimum Efficiency according to EN779:2012 clause 11 (for F7 to F9 filters only)
  • Eurovent Energy Efficiency Class (for filters rated at 0.944 m3/s only)
  • Annual Energy Consumption according to Eurovent Document 4/21 - 2014 (for filters rated at 0.944 m3/s only)
General Reference documents

Certification Manual 14th (December 2017)
Reference documents


RS 4/C/001-2018